Netherlands adds Prague to list of high-risk regions, travelers must quarantine

The country joins Belgium and Germany in imposing travel restrictions on travelers from Prague, but not the whole Czech Republic

Jason Pirodsky

Written by Jason Pirodsky
Published on 15.09.2020 12:00 (updated on 15.09.2020)

Following Germany and Belgium last week, the Netherlands is the latest EU state to add Prague to its list of high-risk regions, imposing restrictions on travel from the Czech capital.

Travelers coming to the Netherlands from Prague, and those who have recently stayed in the Czech capital, will needs to enter a mandatory 10-day quarantine upon arrival in the Netherlands.

The move takes effect immediately, from today, September 15.

Like Germany and Belgium, the Netherlands regulation only applies to Prague, not the rest of the Czech Republic. Travelers from elsewhere in the country are not required to quarantine.

“Travelers from other areas of the Czech Republic are not affected by the measure,” the Netherlands Foreign Ministry states on its website.

“People living in the Netherlands should then travel to Prague only when necessary.”

The move also does not apply to transit through the country. Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport is traditionally one of the more popular European hubs for travel outside of Europe.

Yesterday, Slovakia added the Czech Republic to its list of risk areas, requiring a five-days quarantine for travelers; unlike the above states, the requirement applies to the whole country, not only Prague.

Denmark has also added the Czech Republic to its list of risk areas, prohibiting travel from the country except for certain reasons (business, family, etc.)